Association football, more commonly known as football or soccer, is a team sport played with a spherical ball between two teams of eleven players. It is played by 250 million players in over 200 countries and dependencies, making it the world's most popular sport. The game is played on a rectangular field called a pitch with a goal at each end. The object of the game is to score by moving the ball beyond the goal line into the opposing goal

How to Play
Players are not allowed to touch the ball with hands or arms while it is in play, except for the goalkeepers within the penalty area. Other players mainly use their feet to strike or pass the ball, but may also use any other part of their body except the hands and the arms. The team that scores most goals by the end of the match wins. If the score is level at the end of the game, either a draw is declared or the game goes into extra time or a penalty shootout depending on the format of the competition. Association football is governed internationally by the International Federation of Association Football (FIFA; French: Fédération Internationale de Football Association), which organizes World Cups for both men and women every four years.
Sports Associations Details


1. Registration Number            – 26

2. Year of Registration              - 03.06.1976

3. Gazette Notification             - Gazette No. 1990/2327.10.2016

4. Tenure of the Association   – 01



Mr. Jaswar Umar

41, Balapokuna Road, Kirulapana, Colombo 06.

077 6213213



Mr. Upali Hevage

100/9, Independence Avenue, Colombo 07.

077 2539805



Mr. A.F. Sallar

T07, Niwasipura, Kotugoda.

077 2392239


5. List of Affiliated Associations –

• Subsidiaries/ Clubs/ Leagues -64

 1. Ampara League

2. Ambalangoda League

3. Anuradhapura League

4. Badulla League

5. Bandarawela League

6. Batticaloa League

7. Balangoda League

8. Beruwa League

9. Biyagama League

10. City

11. Civil Security

12. Colombo League

13. Deh./Mt Lavinia

14. Deniaya League

15. Divlapitiya League

16. Embilipitiya League

17. Galle League

18. Gampaha League

19. Gampola League

20. Govt.Service

21. Hatton League

22. Hambantota League

23. Jaffna League

24. Kalutara League

25. Kanthakkudi League

26. Calcutta

27. Kegalle

28. Kilinochchi

29. Kinnia

30. Mannar

31. Matale

32. Matara

33. Mawanella

34. Madumanathai East

35. Mercantile

36. Monaragala

37. Mulathivu

38. Muthur

39. NSSA

40. Nawalapitiya

41. Negombo

42. Nuwara Eliya

43. Old Amavadi

44. Play Ground League

45. Point Pedro

46. ​​Polonnaruwa

47. Polgahawela

48. Puttalam

49. Ratnapura

50. Sri Lanka Air Force League


52. Sri Lanka Navy

53. SL Police League

54. Sri Lanka School League

55. Sita's League

56. SL University Sports Association

57. Trincomalee

58. Vavuniya

59. Valikkamat League

60. Vadamarachi League

61. Wattala League

62. Wennappuwa

63. Eastern Youth SC

64. United SC